God, School, Work, Social Life?

God, School, Work, Social Life?

As I looked at my schedule for the next two weeks and saw that the next day I will be able to sleep in is 14 days away, all I could do is sigh and ask God, “is this how the rest of my life is going to be?” Always moving from 7am to 11pm, sleeping 7 hours a night, and looking forward to medium cups of coffee–light and sweet–every morning. I wanted to know what was up! Being pulled in all these different directions had me exhausted and not wanting to deal with anybody or anything.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give your rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.
Matthew 11: 28-30

After speaking to God about how I was feeling (as if he didn’t know) he allowed me to remember I asked for my job and he gave it to me. I’m in school and I’m blessed for that because so many other people wish they could be in school. He also reminded me that it is an honor and a privilege to serve him in ministry in his church. Many young people today believe that this is there time to be young, wild and free, but I believe this is the time for me to allow God to mold me for the things to come.

Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity.
1 Timothy 4:12

Do I have a social life? Yes. Do I have to be good at balancing my schedule? Yes. Sometimes I get very overwhelmed when I try to do things in my own strength. When I’m on my last straw and I can’t anymore I surrender it all to God and He helps me get through another day.

5 thoughts on “God, School, Work, Social Life?

  1. Very encouraging! Serving God in our youth is a wise thing to do although it seems to be a difficult choice to make. It’s a wise choice to make. In so doing you encourage other youth to do so and to know that like Mary they’ve chosen the better thing. (I’m proud of you, Mika.)

Leave a Reply

