Prayer why you need it!

Image

 

Prayer and why you need it!

 

 Pray always seems to be a struggle for me. I get up in the morning late most of the time, so I’m rushing and don’t have the time to pray. When I get home from work I’m so tired I say to myself, “I’m going to pray and spend some time with God.” But I just end up saying this quick prayer and falling asleep.

At one point I hadn’t prayed in months, it was serious! I didn’t even know how to approach God and then one night I decided that I was going to pray. I said to myself, “I need to get connected with him again.” It was a late night. I was the only one up in my house and I began to walk back and forth in my room just trying to settle my spirit. I started speaking to God; just repenting and asking for forgiveness. You know…regular stuff. Then all of a sudden I started to feel afraid! This feeling was closing in on me. I began to stutter and stumble on my words. I didn’t know what was happening, I even started to sweat.

Then it dawned on me, fear is not of God. He doesn’t give us the spirit of fear but of love, power and of a sound mind ( 2 Timothy 1:7). So, I knew what I was feeling was nothing but a distraction to stop me from praying. The enemy doesn’t worry about you when you’re not reading the word or praying, but when you start to be about your business that’s when he starts to take notice and tries to knock you off your game.

That night made it obvious to me that prayer is a weapon, we are in spiritual warfare, and we shouldn’t allow laziness, busyness or anything else to stop us from doing it.

Prayer gives us strength, peace, joy, healing, protection and whatever else you may need that’s in the will of God for you to have. I believe that everybody goes through their dry season of no prayer or very little prayer. But it’s not always going to be that way. Sometimes we have to push through push ourselves aside and just do. It is well worth it.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

                                                                                                           Philippians 4:6-7

4 thoughts on “Prayer why you need it!

  1. This is so beautiful, Mika. I too had and sometimes still do suffer from lack of prayer, but that God for his grace. I’m able to start anew any time and or day. Thank you for this reminder and encouragement. God Bless you and keep this up. BEAUTIFUL!!!

  2. Love your vision….its natural, simplistic and genuine. This is Awesome. Continue to allow the spirit to lead, this is highly purposeful….Amen

Leave a Reply

